Home > Special Report > Top Chinese New Year Destinations

World Heritage Sites In China

As of 2008, 37 noteworthy Chinese sites were inscribed on UNESCO's World Heritages List. 26 of these were inscribed as World Cultural Heritage Sites, while seven were inscribed as World Natural Heritage Sites, and four were inscribed as both Cultural and Natural Heritage Sites. To focus the foreign visitor's attention on these heritage sites, a catalogue of all of the UNESCO World Heritage Sites located in China is listed below, with links to specific web pages that provide in-depth information concerning each heritage site.

List of World Heritage Sites in China

Name Year of Recognition Category Location Name Year of Recognition Category Location
Great Wall of China 1987 Cultural Heritage Beijing Terracotta Army 1987 Cultural Heritage Xi'an
Mogao Grottoes 1987 Cultural Heritage Dunhuang Peking Man Site at Zhoukoudian 1987 Cultural Heritage Beijing
Forbidden City, Shenyang Imperial Palace 1987 Cultural Heritage Beijing Potala Palace 1994 Cultural Heritage Lhasa
Chengde Summer Palace 1994 Cultural Heritage Chengde Ancient Building Complex in the Wudang Mountains 1994 Cultural Heritage Hubei
Temple and Cemetery of Confucius and the Kong Family Mansion 1994 Cultural Heritage Shandong Lushan National Park 1996 Cultural Heritage Jiujiang
Lion Grove, Humble Administrator Garden, Lingering Garden, Garden of Master of the Nets 1997 Cultural Heritage Suzhou Pingyao Ancient Town 1997 Cultural Heritage Pingyao
Old Town Lijiang 1997 Cultural Heritage Lijiang Summer Palace 1998 Cultural Heritage Beijing
Temple of Heaven 1998 Cultural Heritage Beijing Dazu Rock Carvings 1999 Cultural Heritage Chongqing
Xidi Village and Hongcun Village 2000 Cultural Heritage Anhui Imperial Tombs of the Ming and Qing Dynasties 2000 Cultural Heritage Beijing

Longmen Grottoes


Cultural Heritage Luoyang Qingchengshan Mountain and Dujiangyan Irrigation Project
Cultural Heritage Sichuan
Yungang Grottoes 2001 Cultural Heritage Datong Capital Cities and Tombs of the Ancient Koguryo Kingdom 2004 Cultural Heritage Jilin
Historic Centre of Macau 2005 Cultural Heritage Macau Yin Xu 2006 Cultural Heritage Henan
Kaiping Diaolou and Villages 2007 Cultural Heritage Jiangmen Fujian Tulou 2008 Cultural Heritage Fujian
Huanglong Scenic and historic Interest Area 1992 Natural Heritage Sichuan Jiuzhaigou Valley Scenic and Historic Interest Area 1992 Natural Heritage Jiuzhaigou
Wulingyuan Scenic and Historic Interest Area 1992 Natural Heritage Zhangjiajie Three Parallel Rivers of Yunnan Protected Areas 2003 Natural Heritage Yunnan
Sichuan Giant Panda Sanctuaries: Wolong, Mt Siguniang and Jiajin Mountains 2006 Natural Heritage Chengdu South China Karst 2007 Natural Heritage South China
Mount Sanqingshan National Park 2008 Natural Heritage Shangrao Mount Taishan 1987 Cultural and Natural Heritage Shandong
Mount Huangshan (Yellow Mountain) 1990 Cultural and Natural Heritage Anhui Mount Emei Scenic Area and Leshan Giant Buddha 1992 Cultural and Natural Heritage Sichuan
Mount Wuyi 1999 Cultural and Natural Heritage Xiamen

Map of World Heritage Sites in China