Home > China Facts > China Travel Guide Book > China Visa > Visa Free Transit in China for 144 Hours

Visa Free Transit in China for 144 Hours

A number of areas and cities of China allow travelers from 53 countries to stay in certain cities for up to 144 hours (6 days) without applying for a Chinese travel visa to experience local culture and life. You can enjoy a journey in China easier. We have listed here the most important information you may need for planning a visa-free journey to China.

Which countries are covered in the policy?


53 countries are included in the policy.

  • Americas (6 countries): United States, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, and Chile
  • Europe (39 countries): Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Russia, United Kingdom, Ireland, Cyprus, Bulgaria, Romania, Ukraine, Serbia, Croatia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Albania, Monaco, and Belarus
  • Oceania (2 countries): Australia and New Zealand
  • Asia (6 countries): South Korea, Japan, Singapore, Brunei, United Arab Emirates, and Qatar

Which ports of entry are involved in the policy?

Hangzhou West Lake
  • Beijing, Tianjin and Hebei area: Beijing Capital International Airport, Beijing West Railway Station, Binhai International Airport, Tianjin International Cruise Home Port, Hebei Shijiazhuang International Airport, Hebei Qinhuangdao Seaport
  • Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang area: Shanghai Pudong International Airport, Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport, Shanghai Port International Cruise Terminal, Shanghai Wusongkou International Cruise Terminal, Shanghai Railway Station, Nanjing Lukou International Airport, Hangzhou Xiaoshan International Airport, Ningbo Lishe International Airport
  • Guangdong Province: Guangzhou Baiyun International Airport, Shenzhen Bao’an International Airport, Jieyang Chaoshan International Airport
  • Liaoning Province: Shenyang Taoxian International Airport, Dalian Zhoushuizi International Airport
  • Chengdu: Chengdu Shuangliu International Airport
  • Kunming: Kunming Changshui International Airport
  • Xiamen: Xiamen Gaoqi International Airport, Xiamen Wutong Port, Xiamen International Cruise Terminal
  • Shandong Province: Qingdao Liuting International Airport, Qingdao International Cruise Home Port
  • Wuhan: Wuhan Tianhe International Airport
  • Xi'an: Xi'an Xianyang International Airport
  • Chongqing: Chongqing Jiangbei International Airport

Map of China 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit Cities and Regions

Map of China 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit Cities

Meeting the Qualifying Criteria

transit from airport
  • You must be in transit to a third country or region (Hong Kong, Macau, and Taiwan are included among possible third regions). For instance, USA–Shanghai–Hong Kong is acceptable for a 144-hour transit visa in Shanghai, but USA–Shanghai–USA, or USA-Hong Kong-Shanghai is not.
  • Your transit time is no more than 144 hours (from the first 00:00 hrs after you enter).
  • You enter and leave from one of the eligible ports of entry.
  • You can travel only around the eligible areas or cities within 144 hours but you are not permitted to go to other city or provincial level areas in China.

For example, if you arrive in Shanghai, you can only travel around Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang area; if you arrive in Beijing, you can only travel around Beijing, Tianjin and Hebei area; if you arrive in Chengdu, you can only tour Chengdu, (since 1 December 2019: Leshan, Deyang, Suining, Meishan, Ya'an, Ziyang, Neijiang, Zigong, Luzhou, and Yibin) … Feel free to tell us your queries.

How to calculating the 144 Hours?


On arrival at one of the entry points, eligible foreign passengers will be issued a temporary entry permit by immigration officials. The 144 hours starts from 00:00 hrs immediately following the time of entry. Passengers can stay in Shanghai Municipality, Jiangsu Province and Zhejiang Province without a Chinese visa for up to 144 hours from then.

For example, if you enter Chengdu at 6am on February 1st, 2020, your permissible stay period starts counting down from 00:00 on February 2nd and you can stay until 23:59 on February 7th. So you may actually stay longer than 144 (but still less than 168) hours, depending on arrival and departure times.

What Documents Necessary for 144-Hour Visa-Free Transit?

  • Valid international travel documents (including passport) and onward air/boat/train tickets to a third country (region), with confirmed date and seat within 144 hours of the first 00:00 hrs after arrival.
  • Visa for a third country/region (if needed)
  • Arrival and departure cards (completely filled in)

144-Hour Transit in 6 Steps

air ticket

1. Inform your carrier agent that you wish to use a 144-hour visa-free transit at the check-in.
2. Submit the arrival and departure card form.
3. Locate the dedicated lanes for 144-hour visa-exemption transit passengers within the entry inspection areas after arrival.
4. Show your tickets, passport, and China arrival card to the immigration officer for inspection and tell to them you wish to transit without a visa.
5. After clearing immigration, claim your luggage and go through customs as normal.
6. Departure from a designated port before midnight on the sixth full day. There is nothing different from leaving China normally. Hand over your completed departure card at the security inspection.

Take a Visa-Free Transit Tour with China Travel

the Bund in Shanghai

Visiting the Bund in Shanghai

We can help you to create a 144-hour visa-free tour to make the best of your time and meet your interests. Here are also three sample tours we recommend for your inspiration:

Elben Pan
Always Traveling, Always Writing.

For an authentic travel experience, contact one of our travel advisors. Our local experts are always ready to create a hassle-free tour for you.

 Tailor-made My Trip